Nurturing November – Better Than “Because I Said So”

“Because I said so.”

This is the most classic parenting phrase in the course of history. It’s a phrase that we all have heard from our parents. And when we are kids, we swear that we will never use it on our children… but alas.

There it went!

“Because I said so.”

This phrase is so tempting to use because it sums up so many thoughts into one short, sweet, absolute sentence. It often comes out because of question overload or due to emotional exasperation.

Everyone says it. No one is proud of it. But how do we delete it from our go-to response… especially if there is a child who is not willing to accept that as your answer!

I would like to assert that the following phrase is just as encompassing, just as impactful, and just as short, sweet, and to the point… YET… it communicates a little extra that will allow you to feel much better about using it.

Ready for it already? Here is is: “BECAUSE I LOVE YOU TOO MUCH.”

This honestly communicates the same thing, but instead of emphasizing your authority and power, you are emphasizing your love and care. Let’s see how it stands up?

Why can’t I have another cookie?Image result for heart drawing
Because I love you too much.

Why won’t you unblock my phone?
Because I love you too much.

Why can’t I go to his/her house?
Because I love you too much.

Why can’t we stay longer?
Because I love you too much.

Why can’t I get that toy/game/gadget/outfit?
Because I love you too much.

Seems to be holding it’s own… are you willing to make the switch? Leave your thoughts by commenting below!

If you feel like you are constantly arguing with your child and want solutions to improve your relationship, email me at JillianRedefiningWellness@gmail.comJillianRedefiningWellness@gmail.comJillianRedefiningWellness@gmail.com or sign up for a free 20 minute video conferencing consultation at https://JillianRedefiningWellness.clientsecure.me

One thought on “Nurturing November – Better Than “Because I Said So”

Leave a Reply

