Be Your Own Valentine – Theme Thursday; featuring Jenna

We are getting toward the end of this series! I am so excited to be sharing a beautiful story of  faith and fitness from my dear teammate Jenna Leigh Coleman!

Here’s Jenna…

♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥

https://heartmomfit.files.wordpress.com/2016/02/img_0054.jpg?w=316&h=470Growing up, I had a difficult time finding a connection with God.  I was never lost or rebelled, but I just never gave much thought past my nightly prayers that became routine. After I moved to Florida, I was exposed to a diverse selection of church options. The typical church atmosphere I was used to was long gone. The new upbeat churches with child care, coffee bars to mingle at, and social events to meet new people made church fun and enjoyable. Not to mention my pastor delivered extremely powerful messages that brought me to tears every week. The connection spoke to my heart and my faith grew.

I was baptized as a child, but I wanted to recommit my renewed faith and deepen my journey in faith. I signed up and had the best baptism experience and I am so glad I did it.

The church had a photographer to capture the whole experience. I couldn’t wait to look through the photos and find mine. I rushed through all of the photos and was upset that mine must have gotten lost or something. My husband quickly pointed me out and I was in shock. I didn’t even recognize myself. As the mom of a 1 year old at the time and step mom to twin 9 year-olds, I completely lost myself.

https://heartmomfit.files.wordpress.com/2016/02/img_7561.jpg?w=294&h=367I definitely cried. I definitely felt bad for myself. I went for a drive and Carrie Underwood’s song Something in the Water came on and it was like God was speaking to me. I knew at that point I needed to start caring for myself and live purposely for God. My body is his temple and feeling sorry for myself was doing nothing for nobody. I love reflecting on that day and how I felt because I have come so far. That was October 2014 and I can’t wait to continually use this photo as my before so I can look back and embrace my walk in faith to be stronger in fitness.

 

To view more of my health journey you can visit me at:
Blog: www.heartmomhealth.com
Instagram:http://www.instagram.com/jennaleighcoleman
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/HeartMomFit/

One thought on “Be Your Own Valentine – Theme Thursday; featuring Jenna

Leave a Reply

