Be Your Own Valentine – Sacred Sunday

I hope that I don’t disappoint you readers as I am not featuring a guest today! I’m back for today and will also finish up the Be Your Own Valentine Series on Leap Day, February 29th! I hope that you all have been encouraged thus far and are learning how to love yourself in all areas of life.

Today, I want to talk about something that I, honestly, resisted for many years.

Choosing a “favorite” bible verse.

A little backstory…

I did not grow up in a church going family and became a Christian through a wonderful ministry called On Goal Soccer. I made my faith my own over many years of trying to figure things out on my own and then getting guidance from the staff of On Goal every summer. I knew Scripture was important, but did not have a firm grasp on it until I went to Cedarville University. I enjoyed learning about God’s Word and was amazed at how much more was in the Bible than I had thought. I would hear all these people talk about having a “life verse” or a “favorite” verse… This was something that seemed normal to everyone, but I always had a really hard time with choosing a “favorite” verse. How could you choose one verse over another if they are all God’s Word???

And while I had this thought… I also believe my heart was fully pure of rebellion. Often times our best intentions still have a slight bit of impurity to them (#sinfulnature). Part of me was just being lazy or non-committal. I knew that choosing a “favorite” verse would require careful combing through of the Scriptures to ensure that I chose wisely. But honestly, the only person I was disadvantaging by not choosing a “favorite” verse, was myself.

Now, let me say, if you do not have a “favorite” verse, you are surely not losing your salvation, or missing out on what blessings God has for you, or committing a sin. I have just realized that having a favorite verse does the following things that have been purely advantageous to my life:

  • God’s word and truth stored in my heart

  • Guards me against the enemy’s attacks
  • Helps me remember what is important in life
  • Gives me a framework for how to live my life
  • Gives our family a mission statement/focus
  • Provides me with encouragement
  • Allows others to see what I value… believer or non-believer

Having a “favorite” does not mean that you value the rest of God’s Wrd any less or that you can’t have other verses that are favorites throughout the years. I would imagine that your favorite verse could even change over the years. All I know is that getting over that mental block has given me great encouragement and a mission mindset.

So at this point, I am sure you are wondering just what my “favorite” verse is… I will surely share it with you. I hope that this verse matches up with the way that I have presented myself and my business. I will surely fail at some points, and maybe focus on one point over another… but this truly describes my heart and my husband’s heart as we live our live to love and please the Lord. I love how His Word is so practical and timeless.

Without further ado… My “favorite” verse…

But we urge you, brothers, to do this [love one another] more and more, and to aspire to live quietly, and to mind your own affairs, and to work with your hands as we instructed you, so that you may walk properly before outsiders and be dependent on no one.

1 Thessalonians 4: 10b-12

So what is your “favorite” verse? Please share it below! If you have not chosen one… today is your day! Be Your Own Valentine and find that verse that will carry you through the hard time and refocus your life.

One thought on “Be Your Own Valentine – Sacred Sunday

Leave a Reply

