Be Your Own Valentine: Tasty Tuesday; featuring Lauren Boldizar

I love that all my typical themes still fit with the Be Your Own Valentine Series! AND that I have met plenty of amazing people since I have started up Jillian Redefining Wellness. This next guest blogger is another woman that I knew with 100% confidence that she would produce some quality content for you when she volunteered for a Tasty Tuesday post. Lauren is the proprietor of Holistic Fit Fam and a fellow member of Team INSPIRE. She is professional, genuine, and someone who deeply cares to enrich her followers and clientele’s lives. She is sharing something with you that I know I LOVE and am sure you will too!

Here’s Lauren…

♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥

I am sure that with a new year upon us, many of us have made a few New Year’s Resolutions, right?  Maybe we want to tone up or eat healthier.  I aim to set very specific and measurable goals for the new year, not only to keep me accountable, but to also keep me motivated!  You see, I am very motivated and driven when I really enjoy the task at hand:  running, writing, blogging, organizing, and doing all the fun arts-and-crafts mom stuff are all fun for me.  I totally look forward to being the volunteer mom at my daughter’s preschool and setting aside blocks of time to hang out with my kids and family. These very things enable me to truly stay really motivated during my own business hours.

However, one area of mom life that I truly dropped the ball in for 2015 was meal prepping and consistently cooking meals for my family. I found myself feeling really guilty about it. Sure this momma can cook a mean grilled cheese on sprouted bread and scramble eggs like it’s nobody’s business, but I found that I really was not enjoying cooking at all this past year.  And historically speaking, when I do not enjoy the task on hand, I really struggle with seeing that task through to completion.  I quickly lose the motivation!

So this year for 2016, I am committing to spending at least 1-2 hours per week to prep healthy meals for my family.  I find myself using Sunday mornings or early afternoons to dice up veggies, roast a chicken or some fresh turkey, and cooking up side dishes in bulk. And honestly that 1-2 hours on Sundays has enabled me to not feel totally overwhelmed about cooking dinner during the week (because I know I already have some of it prepped from the weekend!).

I have also been on a bit of a Brussel sprout kick!  Deb from Confessions of a Mother Runner inspired me to make a delicious Thanksgiving Day side using Brussel sprouts with fresh cranberries and goat cheese and it was delish! I have sort of been of a Brussel sprout kick ever since; I throw brussels in salads, on top of pizza, and even in my morning omelettes…yum!  This Bacon and Brussels recipe below was inspired by the fact that I really need to go grocery shopping, but am trying to hold out until Sunday!  Although it sounds a bit different, this dish turned out pretty yummy.  It would pair well with as a side or feel free to make it as the main course!  I also think this may make the lineup for our Super Bowl party this year!

A paleo side dish or main meal with bacon and Brussel sprouts.

 

Bacon and Brussels

http://i2.wp.com/holisticfitfam.com/wp-content/uploads/2016/01/IMG_2024.jpg?resize=150%2C150
A paleo side or main dish filled with bacon and brussel sprouts

Ingredients

  • 2 pounds Brussel sprouts, trimmed
  • Extra-virgin olive oil
  • Sea Salt
  • Pinch of black pepper
  • 6 ounces uncured turkey bacon, shredded

Directions

  • Preheat the oven to 400 degrees F. Cut the Brussels sprouts in half lengthwise, from top to bottom. Toss the sprouts with olive oil, 1/2 teaspoon salt and the pepper on a baking sheet. Put in the oven and roast until tender, about 20 minutes.
  • While the sprouts are roasting, put the bacon in a small saute pan with a splash of olive oil and bring the pan to medium heat. Cook the bacon until crispy, 5-6 minutes. Remove from the pan.  Serve in a warm bowl as a side or the main course!

(http://holisticfitfam.com/bacon-and-brussels/)

http://i2.wp.com/holisticfitfam.com/wp-content/uploads/2015/06/Christmas-card-2015.jpg?resize=200%2C300Hi I’m Lauren Boldizar and I hope you enjoy this guest post for my colleague and friend, Jillian. I try to incorporate bits and pieces of my everyday life that you can laugh about, use in your runs or workouts, or help to prep a healthy meal.  I am a running coach, EBook author, blogger, and business mentor with a passion for holistic health. My mission is to uplift, mentor, and coach other working moms to find ambition, drive, and compassion to do what they LOVE.   My running and coaching strategies employ a REALISTIC approach to goal setting to help you train injury free, or build your own small businesses SMART.  To Grab a copy of my newest EBook, Time Management Tips for Runners™, click HERE. Feel free to connect with me on Facebook, Instagram, and Periscope @holisticfitfam.

See my Mission Statement Here

 

 

5 thoughts on “Be Your Own Valentine: Tasty Tuesday; featuring Lauren Boldizar

Leave a Reply

