Tasty Tuesday: Gluten Free Cream of Anything Soup Mix

I am not one to buy many canned products. But one thing I always used to buy was Cream of Chicken and Cream of Mushroom soups. I just wasn’t sure that I could quickly and closely recreate this pantry staple for my recipes and figured paying $1 to $1.50 was worth it.

Gluten free label 628x363.jpgAnd then… I had to start eating gluten free. After doing a Raw Food Detox in January of 2015, I was no longer able to eat gluten without it making me feel sick, exhausted, and have stomach pain. I completely forgot that my trusty Cream of Chicken/Mushroom soups contained gluten and when I made one of our favorite, go-to recipes, I had some stomach pain and irritation which was discouraging because I so badly wanted to be able to eat my favorite foods.

And then… enter in super hubby! My husband found me a recipe for a shelf-stable, dry mix Cream of Anything Soup! Not only is it easy to put together, but it is cheap, has no preservatives, and no fat!

The total recipe makes 9… NINE… cans worth of condensed soup! I measure it out with a food scale when adding it to recipes and sometimes will use less to quickly thicken a recipe that I want to have more flavor. I use a blender to equally distribute the ingredients and make the dehydrated milk granules more of a powdery substance. A hand blender will not work for this because you will have milk powder flying everywhere! You do not have to blend ingredients, however.

Gluten Free Cream of Anything Soup

2 cups of powdered non-fat dry milk
3/4 cup cornstarch
1/4 cup instant chicken/beef/vegetable bouillon of your choice
2 T dried onion flakes (or 1 T powder)
2 t Italian seasoning (optional; you can use any herb(s) of your choice)

THAT SIMPLE.

If you want to do a cream of mushroom soup, simply add fresh mushrooms! I have also blended mushrooms up in some water to maintain a creamy consistency.

As we enter into the winter season, I hope this recipe is helpful to you! This is a great way to thicken stews, soups, sauces, or gravies.

What will YOU use this for?! Comment below!

 

 

Leave a Reply

