NOTEWORTHY NOVEMBER – Workout Wednesday: “I don’t have time for strength training”

Oh My … This was completely, totally, fully, 100%…

MY EXCUSE.

For a long time I avoided strength training all together because I had a bad experience in college sports. My coach had us on a lifting regimen that caused me to bulk up and then I had summer break and lost all my toned muscle… NOT pretty.

picture from http://www.bewild.com

A few years later, I realized that I had really allowed myself to get weak and that I was not truly healthy because I had so neglected my strength. I was an avid runner but seriously was suffering from “T-Rex Syndrome.” I knew that I really should pursue some strength training exercises, but I never seemed to have the time…

Or did I??

I am a firm believer that we have enough time for the things that are truly important to us. At the time I was in graduate school and had two jobs on top of being a full time student. I also volunteered with my church regularly and lived where I worked. I was surely busy… but I made time to run. I did not make time to pursue strength.

In my mind, I couldn’t sacrifice running because 10 minutes of running would burn more calories than 10 minutes of strength training… or would it?? Now, intensity of strength training surely comes into play, but what I did not realize was that strength training would allow me to burn more calories ALL DAY LONG. Increasing my muscle mass would increase my metabolism and help me burn more. Burning more means losing weight more easily OR, if you are not trying to lose weight (as in my case), allows you to be able to eat more… who doesn’t want that?!

Now that I have been consistently pursuing strength training for nearly a year now (it was my 2015 resolution!), I have been able to see the positive impact strength training can have and how it has delivered the results I am looking for. I will be honest to say that I had no idea where to start, so I have been very thankful to my chiropractor, free Kickboxing classes, and MOST of all… BeachBody programs and Team INSPIRE encouraging me to follow through and to be holistically fit! I am not running as many miles a week now (I used to do 26-30 miles per week), but I finally feel as if I am truly taking care of my body.

SO… have you not had time for strength training?? Perhaps it is time to examine why it is that you do not value strength training and THEN you can begin to prioritize it in your typical routine!

What are your reasons behind this excuse? I want to know! Comment below AND if you are ready to take the plunge into starting strength training… email me at JillianRedefiningWellness@gmail.com NOW to get signed up for my 21 day bootcamp that starts the Monday after Thanksgiving!!

Leave a Reply

