Tasty Tuesday: Broccoli Cheese Soup

It is getting chilly and that means… SOUP!

I LOVE soup for dinner. My hubby… not so much. So if I am making soup for dinner, it HAS to be a creamy and high quality soup. No chicken noodle, tomato,  or minestrone soup. It needs to be thick, creamy, and have well-developed flavor.

So… I tried my hand at a Broccoli Cheese Soup the other night and it was a success! Phew!

I have fond memories of going to Big Boy with my family and getting STOKED about the Soup and Salad bar. Yes… I was an unusual child… And if they had Cream of Broccoli Soup I was in HEAVEN. (Weird kid… yes… I know.)

The BEST part about the broccoli soup, however, was if you were fortunate enough to find a little piece of HAM! So I had to include something in my soup to give it that nostalgic touch… but elevated.

My solution… CANADIAN BACON. So without further ado… here is the recipe!
**I borrowed the thickening agent from Gluten Free on a Shoestring. A site I LOVE!
If you don’t want to eat this gluten free, you could just use a corn starch slurry.

Broccoli Cheese Soup

wpid-20151005_210952-1.jpg

Ingredients
2 large broccoli crowns

4 cups (32 fluid ounces) stock (vegetable or chicken)

2 tablespoons unsalted butter

1 small yellow onion, peeled and coarsely chopped

6 cloves garlic, smashed and peeled

1/2 teaspoon kosher salt

1/8 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper

1/4 cup (35 g) basic gum free gluten free flour blend (23 grams superfine white rice flour + 8 grams potato starch + 4 grams tapioca starch/flour)

1 cup milk (8 fluid ounces; I used cashew milk, but you can use what you have)

1/2 a block of 1/3 fat cream cheese

1/2 lb Canadian bacon, diced into small cubes

8 ounces shredded cheese of your choice

Directions

  • Heat the butter in a large pot.
  • Add in the onions and garlic. Allow the onions to get translucent and the garlic to get some color on it. Make sure to stir along the way!
  • Add your stock and milk to the pot and warm. Once it is warmed up, add in the 1/2 block of cream cheese.
  • Using an immersion blender, blend up all that is in the pot. If you don’t have an immersion blender, you can blend the items in a regular blender. You could also cut the onion up smaller and stir until the cream cheese gets melted and fully incorporated.
  • Add in the Canadian bacon and let the soup simmer.wpid-20151005_210947-1.jpg
  • Start chopping up the broccoli. I found it more helpful to chop the stems and then break the florets apart by hand. Have the florets be as small as possible without them crumbling apart.

  • Allow the soup to get up to a boil and the broccoli pieces to soften; but not to the point of mush!
  • Take your thickening agent and add equal parts water to make a slurry. Add the slurry in while stirring to incorporate it well.
  • Add the shredded cheese and cook until the cheese is melted.
  • Serve it up and enjoy!

I made this soup with Pao de Queijo which is a gluten free Brazilian cheese bread/roll. A FAVE around our place… perhaps that will be my next Tasty Tuesday!!

I would love your feedback on this recipe or suggestions for future Tasty Tuesdays!

Leave a Reply

